Skip to content

Tex Commando

I'm not angry, just outspoken

It’s amazing what a good haircut can do for the ‘ol self esteem. I’ve been procrastinating it for about three weeks. I have a super short cut that needs to be maintained monthly. I can go 6-8 weeks if the stylist did a really good job. By that point, my hair starts getting curly and poufy and big. Past about 8 weeks, I have to accept the curls and scrunch them into a cute little curly afro on top of my head. I hate it. Other people tell me they like it. I think they are lying.

And it’s not even like the salon is out of my way. I drive by it EVERY time I go ANYWHERE. It’s so convenient. That’s why I love going there. So, why haven’t I taken the 20 minutes or less to get my hair cut? I’m not sure.

Too busy? Maybe. It makes me mad that the things that get pushed by the wayside when I get busy are the things that I do to take care of myself. What’s up with that? I’m important too.

What’s more important, cooking dinner or hot yoga? Picking up my teenager from school because she stayed after to get help or getting my hair cut? The <12 hour/week part time job for play money or nap? Playing cards with my kids or vegging out in front of the TV with a glass of wine? Pedicure or warm feet?

Crap. Wasn’t this post about how good I look with my fresh haircut? OK then. I’m sexier than ever because my afro-bush of hair isn’t getting in the way of my swagga. Yeah.

Tags: , , ,

