Skip to content

Tex Commando

I'm not angry, just outspoken

Last night, I reposted something I read on my friend’s facebook status:

Like my status and I’ll tell you:
1) How we met
2) My first impression of you
3) What I like about you
4) Favorite memory of you
5) But if you like this you’ve gotta put this as your status.(:

So I did, because we have tons of history. I knew she would smile as she thought of ‘publicly appropriate’ things to write. I usually never repost crap like this. Seriously. It’s silly.

About 10 minutes later, I got a couple of ‘likes’. There was one from my first make-out boyfriend who broke my heart and refused to speak to me for at least 3 years. Most of them were pretty easy to write.

Others…not so much. What do I say to the person I didn’t really know or like in the first place but they are my friend on FB because- just because? I mean, I can’t just come out and say,

My first impression of you was that you were annoying and I didn’t like you too much then and still don’t really like you now, and if given the chance to get together, I wouldn’t do it because I don’t like being around you and I don’t have any favorite memories about you because all of my memories of you end with me wanting to bash myself in the head.

Can I? Of course not.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t offend anyone. Did I? I mean, I DID say you were loud. But you already know that about yourself, right? And by brave, I kinda meant crazy. Admit it, it was crazy what you did. I’m totally glad about it. If you didn’t go out on a limb, we wouldn’t be in each other’s lives.

Oh, and you who didn’t want to participate, but inserted yourself into the conversation anyway- I’ll tell you what my first impression was. I thought you were too nice and sweet and gracious and accommodating. It didn’t seem real to me. As I have gotten to know you better I have discovered that you really ARE all of those things. However, now you are just the right amount. You are comfortable with yourself enough to not have to be too nice, sweet, gracious, and accommodating that people (me) can get to know you and love you for the beautiful person you are.

In the end, I didn’t lie about anything. I certainly didn’t tell anyone that I thought they were stupid the first time I met them. I did what I was supposed to do.

But if you really want to know what I think about you, now is your chance. I won’t pull any punches. C’mon!

Tags: , , ,

